Week one: *just under the wire* Bubsy’s Birthday Blowout

Greetings!  Lady here with a confession of monstrous proportions….

I didn’t actually do a project this week! *shock*

I know, “For Shame Lady!”  This week was a bit crazy as my someday hubby came down with a mean case of Poison Oak.  As he is always wonderful and patient when I’m sick, or sad, or begging for yet another footrub, (he gives them on first request, it’s AMAZING!) much of my freetime this week was spent tending to his needs.  I also squeezed in buying a new car.  Well… not new, just new to me.  Nevertheless, its the first car with my name on the title, so I’m pretty stinkin’ excited.  Oh, it’s a 2001 PT Cruiser for those who are curious.

But wait, I’m loosing myself.  Stop.  Collaborate.  Listen.

Okay.  So, my point was that I was crazy busy.  And at the end of long days during the week, I kept thinking “Self, we must come up with a quick project to post.  We cannot disappoint Bird of the blogsphere with the very first project!”  But alas, life took over, as it often does, and creatvity just didn’t get its chance to shine.

Then I realized that I had a mountain of pictures from my nephew’s 2nd birthday and some pretty decent shots of his handmade birthday card suite and homemade cake.  My nephew is my favorite person to exist on this planet, so I tend to spare no detail when it comes to making his gifts nothing less than perfect.  Because he is perfect.  Seriously, look:

My little man turned the ripe old age of 2 back in early July.  This years theme was tractors, as he is just a tiny bit obsessed with them.  My brother and sister-in-law put me in charge of the smash cake. I’ve taken a cake decorating class at JoAnn Fabrics (an anniversary gift from the mister!) and was addicted to Ace of Cakes for a solid few years, so I was excited for the challenge.  I took the Duff route and wanted to make a tractor cake that was 100% edible.  Afterall, you can’t just hand a 2 year old a cake and have any chance of him NOT trying to eat everything.

So, without further ado,


I started the process by baking 2 mini loaf cakes (simple vanilla box mix).  I then cut the top one in half and stacked the cakes and evened the edges.  The cakes are covered with vanilla buttercream, colored green for that farmtown effect.  Chocolate donuts serve as the tires.  I love how the chocolate glaze turned out to look like mud!  A Reese cup stands in for the steering wheel, Pretzel M&Ms as the headlights, Hersey bar as the seat, and pretzels served as dowels to hold it all together.  The whole thing was then placed on a cookie sheet, where I alternated pretzels to look like plowed fields. Final touch was to crumble some of the leftover cake set aside from trimming down the sides, and make a trail.  uses a bit of crushed chocolate, pretzels, and cocoa powder to create a dirt line between the “fields” and the “path.”  I call this one a success.  I’m thinking little man liked it too…

Look Mommy, no hands!

I had already purchased Bubs a sweet little table and chair set from Hobby Lobby when I found it on supersale back in March.  I need to take a picture so you can see how absolutely precious it is.  Basically oversized pencils in primary colors serve as the legs of the table and 2 chairs.  Precious.  But since my gift was not handmade, it just had to be presented with a knockout card.  To fit the theme, of course!

Carson’s Birthday

Suite

Complete with Personalized Poem:

“A year ago you were crawling

Could barely walk an inch

And now you’re running everywhere

And climbing seems a cinche.

You’ve learned to say your name

Numbers and colors too,

And nothing can beat that smile you’ve learned

Will make us all give into you.

I can hardly believe you’re here already

Time has gone by so fast

But with all you know and all you’ve learned

Age 2 will be a blast!”

So there you have it.  Carson loved his cake, his card, and his whole big day.

And I loved watching it all from the front row. =)

Until next time.

Lady

Leave a comment

Filed under For Little Souls, Paper Pretties

Leave a Reply

