Week Three: Something actually off my list!

Man! Talk about slackers. Lady didn’t get time for a post last week (don’t blame her… she’s got a stink-tastic job) and I did two projects, neither of which was actually on my original to-do list.

So, getting back on track, I finally broke out my sewing machine!

A while back my younger sister commissioned me to make her a new diaper bag. She wanted something that was gender neutral, and had a divider so she can keep her kiddos stuff separate. Oh, and a zipper. And no flap. And it needed to be big-ish, but not huge. And slouchy, like a hobo bag. And pockets. And a cross body strap. And a cool print.

WHEW! Really, she wanted a cool purse with a divider.

So, after searching the web and finding a bag shape that was close to what she wanted, I drafted a pattern and got to work! (Ok, really, I drafted a pattern, bought supplies, moved, then got to work about a month later… Details.)

Anyway, here’s the finished bag!

 

This bag has all the requested features: It’s slouchy, big enough to fit a bunch of baby stuff, has a divider, 2 pockets, all that jazz.

I’m honestly really sad that we picked such a dark, busy print, because it doesn’t photograph the details well at all. See those pleats? No? Well, they’re there. (Promise.)

And that super fancy complicated zipper casing with cute little tab at the end of the zipper….. yeah, that’s what the above photo is supposed to show…. hopefully you can tell, because it was a pain in the you-know-what to figure out. I love the look of it, but still!

The momma modeling her new bag. I promise, this sweatshirt is huge on her. She’s really a skinny-mini, even after 2 babies. Brat.

And the adjustable tie strap! I love that it turned out looking like a bow.

So, that’s it for today! Lady should have a pretty neat project to show you this week, and I have a couple clothing posts and a Thift Store Shopping Guide coming up soon! So Stay tuned!

Until Next Time!

-Bird

Leave a comment

Filed under General Ramblings

Leave a Reply

